21

Shadows Live Under Seashells - Science Fiction

Posted by  $  AJAshinoff 2 years, 8 months ago
39 comments | Share | Best of... | Flag

Set in 2084, Shadows Live Under Seashells is a frighteningly relevant look at the fears that we allow to guide our decisions today and their impact on the future of the United States and, ultimately, all of mankind. The story follows the life of Elliot Fintch, a man raised in a new world order and taught to think, act, and conduct himself as the Administration, mankind's single governing body, dictates. Elliot, because of his profession as an Eductor - a creative thinker - is sent to Mars to investigate a string of murders that have been quietly occurring on the Red Planet for decades. To continue advancing in his profession and maintain favor with the Administration, Elliot must discover why these murders are happening. He must work out how they can be stopped before they become known to the public and raise questions about the Administration's legitimacy to govern.

Shadows Live Under Seashells is a story of one man's enlightenment in what some would consider a Utopian society. It exemplifies the notion that although a seashell may look ornate, bright, and beautiful on the beach, there is always a shadow underneath that could be hiding something ugly, dangerous, or even threatening.


Reviews:

"I really loved this story. It gives a preview of where we are headed if we do not take control of our own destiny. Unfortunately the people who really need to read this probably will not."
- T Blackburn "Irish 666", Lebanon Illinois

"For me, this book was a well-paced and steady revelation of the who/what/when/where and why of the characters and their experiences in the late 21st century, and added a nice touch of mystery to a sci-fi story.And, as with any good story, the ending was not what I expected, and I attribute this to a subtle effort by the author to lead me in the direction he wished me to go, an effort I happily and obediently rewarded."
- David Metz

"Five stars. "Shadows Live Under Seashells" was a captivating read from beginning to end."
- Traveler "CMC", Rochester NY

"A mystery, a love story, a cautionary tale of what our future could be. You can think it, but you had better not say it out loud, Big Brother is listening."
- Bassplayer

"Interesting ideas and concepts of how it was decided to make our future world "better" after we all but destroyed it. The title is a little strange, but the lessons are really important ones in a world where there are always groups who think they know better how to live our lives."
- Kathy Jordan, Port Townsend, WA

"For fans of Fahrenheit 451, Atlas Shrugged, and movies like Brazil or Soylent Green, this is book is a "must read!" Rich in its vision of what technology in the late 21st Century might be like, it is a powerful exploration of where an unchecked drive to ensure the "common good" might lead. With great plotting and fully fleshed out characters, it was hard to put down."
- Richard A. Spitzer

"Shadows Live Under Seashells is an interesting read that, for me, was frighteningly too close to reality."
- Don

"When a book changes your outlook and affects your views on society and everyday life, politically and personally, you know it deserves 5 stars. In addition to presenting alarming yet believable possible outcomes of modern technology, Ashinoff has created engaging characters and a story plot that will keep you reading and wanting more!! What do you prize in life? What couldn't you bear to lose? What's worth fighting for, dying for, killing for? Allan Ashinoff gets you thinking in Shadows Live Under Seashells!"
- Wormer1


Shadows Live Under Seashells is available in eBook and paperback format on Amazon (the below link is to my authors page on Amazon featuring both of my novels):
http://www.amazon.com/Allan-J.-Ashino...


Add Comment

FORMATTING HELP

All Comments Hide marked as read Mark all as read

  • Posted by  $  2 years, 3 months ago
    Shadows Live Under Seashells was awarded its first 1-star post on GoodReads - it only took 2+ years. I can respect that not everyone will appreciate my writing but the coward couldn't even post a reason for such a low rating. Another example of the courage via anonymity.
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
  • Posted by DanShu 2 years, 8 months ago
    I was always a strong SF fan as a kid. This looks like the kind of stuff I liked. Thanks AJ, I'm ordering it right now.
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
    • Posted by DanShu 2 years, 6 months ago
      I just got done reading it. Loved it and sure hope you planning a sequel. My only problem with it was it ended way to fast.
      Reply | Mark as read | Parent | Best of... | Permalink  
      • Posted by Non_mooching_artist 2 years, 5 months ago
        I agree! I was ready for more.
        Reply | Mark as read | Parent | Best of... | Permalink  
        • Posted by  $  2 years, 5 months ago
          I'll soon post a few chapters of the unrelated project I've been focusing on. I do have the start of the second installment of Shadows Live Under Seashell in the works, but it has a long way to go.
          Reply | Mark as read | Parent | Best of... | Permalink  
          • Posted by  $  2 years, 4 months ago
            A brief explanation for the delay in the chapters from my new book.

            It turns out that an established and popular science fiction publisher is accepting submissions up until July 1st. I happen to meet the criteria for the submission and am polishing my story to meet the July 1st deadline. One caveat, they insist that whatever is submitted has not been published or shared anywhere else - my sharing a few chapters may disqualify my entry.

            Since this is a legit publisher that pays up-front projected and long term royalties, I have to take the shot.

            Please understand.
            Reply | Mark as read | Parent | Best of... | Permalink  
      • Posted by  $  2 years, 6 months ago
        I am working on a sequel but another project, which I will share a sample in the Gulch sometime soon, got in the way. I do have a basic outline and started fleshing out the elements.

        Please, if you would, leave an honest review on Amazon and/or GoodReads. Reviews generate sales for intendant authors. Thank again.
        Reply | Mark as read | Parent | Best of... | Permalink  
  • Posted by Genez 1 year, 1 month ago
    Saw the link in the latest Galt's Gulch newsletter and thought I'd make a quick comment. Great Book - it is definitely worth getting and reading. I bought not long after it came out and thoroughly enjoyed it. Being reminded of it today, plan to read it again soon!
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
  • Posted by  $  Flootus5 1 year, 9 months ago
    OK, I just finished Shadows Live Under Seashells. Enthralling. I consider it a major 21st Century update to George Orwell's 1984.

    The plausibility of it all is remarkable, and totally terrifying as we can see the beginnings of this type of society currently.

    A must read to add to the collections of the likes of 1984, Animal Farm, Fahrenheit 451, Brave New World, Atlas Shrugged and others. It is also ripe for a sequel!
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
  • Posted by awebb 2 years, 8 months ago
    AJ - just a suggestion - you might add the description blurb from your Amazon page so people can see what your book is about immediately (on this page) versus having to go to Amazon to find out if they might be interested.

    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
  • Posted by  $  6 months ago
    My e-book Shadows Live Under Seashells will be substantially discounted from Wednesday (5/15) to Friday (5/19). The promotion, the first time I've attempted one of this kind, will have a discount applied which will gradually lessen until the ebook returns to its regular $4.99 price on the 19th.

    If the story is compelling to you and you haven't already read it, feel free to take early advantage of the sale to obtain the greatest discount. If you have read Shadows Live Under Seashells and know someone who hasn't and may enjoy speculative fiction please feel free to pass a referral.

    Thanks
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
  • Posted by CircuitGuy 11 months ago
    Where did you learn to write fiction? I would like to learn too. I read one book it a few years ago. It talked about charting out a narrative with decision-points that could break one way or another depending on actions. It also talked about tropes to avoid.

    Are you self-taught in fiction or did you go to some workshops/classes of some sort?
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  

FORMATTING HELP

  • Comment hidden. Undo