Senate votes to block the president's emergency declaration

Posted by exceller 2 years, 8 months ago to Politics
2 comments | Share | Flag

Twelve republicans joined the dems:

- Lamar Alexander, Tennessee
- Roy Blunt, Missouri
- Susan Collins, Maine
- Mike Lee, Utah
- Jerry Moran, Kansas
- Lisa Murkowski, Alaska
- Rand Paul, Kentucky
- Rob Portman, Ohio
- Mitt Romney, Utah (the new McCain)
- Marco Rubio, Florida
- Patrick Toomey, Pennsylvania
- Roger Wicker, Mississippi

The RINOs are out in spades.

Now the president must veto it.

Add Comment


All Comments Hide marked as read Mark all as read

  • Posted by freedomforall 2 years, 8 months ago
    My first thought was, "How much campaign funding were these senators promised by Soros and company?"
    What could be an alternative motivation?
    I have a major dislike for presidential emergency powers, which are not constitutionally granted. I could see that as a motivation under normal circumstances, but some of these senators are definitely motivated by politics, not constitutionality.
    Reply | Mark as read | Best of... | Permalink  
    • Posted by 2 years, 8 months ago
      That is what my thinking was as well.

      You should have seen the face of Alexander when he announced his opposition. He said there was no precedent that a president wanted money after Congress denied it. So he wants Trump to stand in line properly, to the mighty power Congress exerts.

      I am sure Trump is not surprised at this charade.
      Reply | Mark as read | Parent | Best of... | Permalink  


  • Comment hidden. Undo